Choctaw Nation awards 12 small businesses with Chahtapreneur Awards

Choctaw Nation Chahtapreneuer of the Year Micky Lloyd of Common Roots Mercantile. Photo: Choctaw Nation.

Choctaw Nation
Michelle Weaver

McALESTER, Okla. – Choctaw Nation’s Small Business Development Department recently revealed its Chahtapreneur Award winners. Every year, one Choctaw-owned small business from each district is recognized, and one of those exceptional businesses wins the Chahtapreneur of the Year award, the highest honor.

This year’s top honor was awarded to Micky Lloyd, owner of Common Roots Mercantile, located in McAlester.  Common Roots Mercantile opened in 2014 and carries a wide variety of unique gifts. It also offers over 30 flavors of ice-cold, glass bottled soda and sweet treats to enjoy while shopping. Lloyd is an active member of the community who has renovated three historic downtown buildings and has played a big part in Choctaw Avenues new Streetscape design which is currently underway.

“We’re incredibly proud of all our Chatapreneurs. Owning a small business takes hard work, determination and consistency,” said Gary Johnson, Choctaw Nation Small Business Development Manager. “These awards showcase the achievements of some of the area’s best entrepreneurs. It is truly a privilege to serve our Chatapreneur business owners within their communities.”

Award nominations are based on Chahtapreneur business owner’s participation with Choctaw Nation Small Business Development Program, community involvement and community impact. This is the fourth year the Choctaw Nation has given the award.

Below is a complete list of the Chahtaprenuer Award winners by district:

Chahtapreneur Award Winners by District:

District 1: Greg Willie: Willie Independent Insurance – Idabel, OK
District 2: Aaron Clay: Southern Comfort Heat & Air – Broken Bow, OK
District 3: Lynn White: Mimic MFG – Heavener, OK
District 4: Matthew Carmack: Carmack’s Garage – Poteau, OK
District 5: Mike West: West’s Tools, LLC – Quinton, OK
District 6: Stephen Goldsborough: Fields Hardware & Automotive, LLC – Red Oak, OK
District 7: Sequina Hunter: Little Disciples Day Care – Antlers, OK
District 8: Josie Rosales: Taco Mamas – Hugo, OK
District 9: Leigh Anne Brooks: Texoma Wealth Management – Durant, OK
District 10: Vidal Munoz: T & M Mobile Detailing – Atoka, OK
District 11: Micky Lloyd: Common Roots Mercantile – McAlester, OK
District 12:  Paul Watkins: S & T Hauling, LLC (S and T Trash Service) – Indianola, OK

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *