2021 Choctaw election results announced

Choctaw Nation
Kelsey Brown

DURANT, Okla. – The Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma Election Board today announced official results of the 2021 General Election held Saturday, July 10.

All election results listed below have been duly certified by the Election Board and will be communicated to the Bureau of Indian Affairs office:

  • District 4 winner: Jess Henry with 617 votes (53.37%).
  • District 10 winner: Anthony Dillard with 554 votes (90.67%).
  • District 7: No candidate received more than 50% of total votes cast. The two candidates that received the most votes were Adrian Johnico (36.67%) and Joey Tom (40.07%). This race will proceed with a Runoff Election between the two candidates.
  • Other districts that were up for election, but drew no opposition were District 9 Council Member James Dry, District 6 Council Member Jennifer Woods, and District 12 Council Member James Frazier.

District 7 Early Voting in the Runoff will be Aug. 6 from 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Runoff Election Day is set for Aug. 7 from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. with Same Day Registration offered as an additional service to eligible tribal members to update their voter information.

Polling sites for District 7 will be at the Choctaw Community Center, 302 SW O St. in Antlers, and at the Choctaw Community Center, 5718 Rodeo Grounds Rd. in Wright City.

Affiliated voters also may choose to vote by mail. District 7 will start receiving ballots in the mail beginning the week of July 19. Mail-in ballots must be received and processed in the Durant Post Office no later than 4:30 p.m. Aug. 6.

According to the Constitution of the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, after an installation ceremony, the six Council Members will begin their new terms at noon on the first Monday of September.

For complete results of the Choctaw Nation elections, visit http://www.choctawnation.com/elections. To check on Voter Registration status, contact the Voter Registration Department by email at voterregistration@choctawnation.com or to obtain a form, visit www.choctawnation.com/vote.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *