Southeastern journalism students earn top awards at Oklahoma Collegiate Media Association Conference

Members of the student media team earned top honors at Southeastern Oklahoma State University attended the 2018 OCMA conference and awards banquet in Stillwater. Pictured with OCMA organizer Dr. Joey Senat is Jerai Billy, Kourtney Kaufman and Megan McFarland.


DURANT – Southeastern Oklahoma State University journalism students recently attended the Oklahoma Collegiate Media Association conference and awards banquet in Stillwater, Okla., taking home numerous top honors and awards in the Diamond Division. SE Student Media competes against other university publications and journalists across the state.

The Southeastern student newspaper won first place for Online Newspaper, which can be found at

The monthly printed edition of The Southeastern won first place for Front Page Design, second place for Overall Newspaper and second place for Interior Page Design and Layout.

The following SE students won awards for The Southeastern at the state level as well.

Kourtney Kaufman won first and third place in Editorial Writing and honorable mention in Sports Photography. Megan McFarland won first place in News Photography and Sports Photography and honorable mention for General News Writing for The Southeastern.

In spring of 2017, SE Student Media created the first edition of The Holisso, a 76-page full color magazine, which students write, photograph and design as a part of curriculum. The Holisso won Overall Magazine General Excellence and was recognized as the top student produced magazine in OCMA.

The following SE students won awards for their contributions to The Holisso:

Chelsey Pilkilton, first place, Magazine Sports Photography; J.D. Anteau, first place, Magazine News Photography and second place, Magazine Feature Photography; Nicole Diseker, first place, Magazine Feature Photography; Brandon Green, first place, Magazine Sports Writing; Ivy Phelps, first place, Magazine General Newswriting and second place, Magazine News Photography; Haley Barnett, honorable mention, Magazine Feature Writing; and Kourtney Kaufman, honorable mention Magazine Feature Writing.

Comments are closed.