Southeastern honors outstanding faculty and staff members

Dr. Glenn Melancon received the Faculty Senate Lifetime Achievement Award and is congratulated by Southeastern president Thomas Newsom. Photo courtesy SE Communications.

SE Communications

DURANT – A number of individuals were honored Monday at Southeastern Oklahoma State University’s Faculty-Staff Recognition Celebration.

Both the Faculty Senate and Staff Senate presented awards in several categories. In addition, employees were recognized for years of service and retirees were honored.

A new recognition — the Distinguished Service to Southeastern Award — was presented posthumously to Dell McLain, who served as director of theatre at Southeastern for many years.

The new award criteria reads as follows:

“There are many outstanding people that serve alongside us daily. Some of them just have a way of making everyone around them better. We all know someone that makes a difference in the lives of others. Each year at this event, we will recognize those that have done that on our campus; faculty, staff or others.  The Distinguished Service Award will recognize those that have taken a special interest; those that have made a difference on our campus.  Each year, the Southeastern Foundation will direct $250 into a scholarship fund at the discretion of the honoree or their family.’’

Dr. Glenn Melancon, chair-professor of social sciences, was the recipient of the Faculty Senate’s Lifetime Achievement Award; Dr. Amy Madewell, psychology program coordinator/associate professor, was named Professor of the Year; and Shawn Ridenour was named Adjunct Professor of the Year.

The Service to Students award, presented by the Staff Senate, went to  Rachel Toews, registrar.

The event was held in the Visual & Performing Arts Center.

Following is the list of award recipients:

Faculty Senate Awards

Lifetime Achievement Award – Dr. Glenn Melancon
Professor of the Year – Dr. Amy Madewell
Shawn Ridenour – Adjunct Professor of the Year

School of Arts & Sciences

Dr. Jennifer Lodine-Chaffey – Outstanding Research and Scholarship
Riley Coker – Excellence in Teaching
Dr. Doug Wood – Meritorious Service
Jory Wade – Excellence in Teaching
Matthew Sparacio – Meritorious Service
Dr. Jake Pruett – Outstanding Research and Scholarship

John Massey School of Business

Dr. Kitty Campbell – Meritorious Service
Dr. David Whitlock – Excellence in Teaching
Dr. Lawrence Silver – Outstanding Research and Scholarship

School of Education & Behavioral Sciences

Dr. Kathy McDonald – Meritorious Service
Dr. Chaehyun Lee – Outstanding Research and Scholarship
Dr. Katheryn Shannon – Excellence in Teaching

Staff Association Awards

Storm Rookie of the Year:

Paula Downs, Secretary in Department of Music

Outstanding Non-Exempt Employee:

Kelly Hawthorne, Office Manager in Physical Plant

Outstanding Exempt Employee:

Durward Cook, Chief of Campus Police

Outstanding Outreach Employee:

Sheri Hundley, Coordinator of Academic Services at McAlester

Service to Students:

Rachel Toews, Registrar

Outstanding Staff Senate Member:

Shawn Ridenour, Assistant IT Director in Information Technology 


(The following lists include retirees from 2019-2022, as those individuals from 2019-2021 were not recognized during an event due to the pandemic.)


Jannista Wood

Administrative Assistant to VP for Student Affairs
Years of Service:  33

Dr. Linda Bressler

Professor/John Massey Chair in Accounting
Years of Service:  5

Debra Roberts

Academic Advisor – Upward Bound Programs
Years of Service: 13-plus

Robert Howard

Director of MBA/Instructor – John Massey School of Business
Years of Service:  12

Bobby Dan Simmons

Director of Physical Plant
Years of Service:  13

Terry Simmons

Technical Services Assistant – Library
Years of Service: 11-plus

Alan Davis

Aircraft Maintenance Quality Inspector
Years of Service: 25-plus

Dr. Randy Prus

Professor/Chair – English, Humanities & Languages
Years of Service:  31

Dr. Charla Hall

Professor – Psychology & Counseling
Years of Service:  24

Dr. Stanley Rice

Professor – Biological Sciences
Years of Service:  24

Dr. Brooks Flippen

Professor – Social Sciences
Years of Service:  27

Dr. William Fridley

Professor – Education Instruction & Leadership
Years of Service:  23 


Dr. Jon K. Reid

Professor/Chair- Psychology & Counseling
Years of Service:  28

Dr. Martin Bressler

Endowed Chair John Massey School of Business
Years of Service: 10

Johnna Towne

Office Manager/Physical Plant
Years of Service: 22-plus

Barbara Echols

IETV Technician
Years of Service:  15-plus

Dr. Frances Daniel Althoff

Professor English, Humanities & Languages
Years of Service: 23

Michael Pruitt

Aviation Lead Mechanic
Years of Service: 24

Terry Miller

Supervisor of Custodian & Special Events Set Ups
Years of Service: 11-plus

Dr. Tim Boatmun

Vice President of Enrollment Management
Years of Service: 23 

2019 – 2020

Corlyss Delashaw

Instructor – Social Sciences
Years of Service:  28

Dr. Wayne Jones

Director of Aviation & Occupational Safety/Professor
Years of Service:  22

Joe Ward

Landscaper – Grounds
Years of Service:  13-plus

Pamela Forster

Office Assistant for Academic Programs – Print Shop
Years of Service:  18-plus

Thomas Forester

Building Maintenance Technician – Custodial Services
Years of Service:  11-plus

Dr. Bryon Clark

Acting President
Years of Service:  39-plus

Dr. Mark Spencer

Professor – English, Humanities & Languages
Years of Service:  19

Dr. John Mischo

Professor – English, Humanities & Languages
Years of Service:  28

Dr. Stacy Weger (deceased)

Professor/Director of Choral Activities – Music
Years of Service:  19


Deborah Godwin

Academic Advisor – Education Opportunity Center
Years of Service:  25

Dr. Edward Mauzey

Chair/Professor School of Education and Leadership – Psychology & Counseling
Years of Service:  18

Tracey Claxton

Academic Counselor/Coordinator of Tutorial Services – Student Support Services
Years of Service:  27-plus

George Jacox

Assistant Professor/Chair Department of Flight/Co-Director of the Aviation Sciences Institute
Years of Service:   28-plus

Wesley Lovell

Director Southeastern Printing Services
Years of Service:  31

Dr. Patrick Reardon

Professor – Mathematics
Years of Service:  20

Dr. Loide Wasmund

Professor – Chemistry, Computer & Physical Sciences
Years of Service:  29

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.