Southeastern’s Braudrick earns Central Plains Coach of the Year

SE Athletics
Matt Thomas, Sports Information Director

DURANT – Southeastern rodeo coach Christi Braudrick has been named the Central plains Region Coach of the Year as voted on by the region’s coaches.

Sports presented by Indian Nation Wholesale.

The honor is her first since taking over the Savage Storm program and highlights the level to which she has raised the men’s and women’s programs in her tenure.

“Receiving Central Plains Region coach of the Year from my peers in the region is very much appreciated,” said Braudrick. “I think this recognition truly reflects the student athletes I’ve been so fortunate enough to coach the last six years.  I am very grateful and privileged to be where I am at my alma mater working with student athletes in a sport I truly love.”

Braudrick has guided the Storm rodeo program to be perennial competitors in a difficult region which features one of the largest competitor pools in college rodeo.

Over the 2018-19 season the men’s team has moved into the top spot regionally among a top-heavy field, while the women currently sit third in the region and within striking distance of the top spot with two events remaining.

The men’s team has featured a pair of athletes who have already qualified for the men’s all-around rankings in Kolton White and Laramie Warren.

Meanwhile, Will Martin paces the bareback riding field with the highest point total of any individual competitor in any event on the year.

White and his team roping partner Dalton Titsworth have maintained a hold on the top spot in the team roping regional standings as well.

On the women’s side, Peyton Glenn is currently second among the barrel racing field in the region.

Overall, Southeastern athletes are ranked 23 times among the Central Plains Region top-15 competitors across all events.

Braudrick will be recognized following the season finale event at Panhandle State April 25-27 as the Central Plains Region Coach of the Year and will be in the running for the National Coach of the Year award which will be handed out at the College National Finals Rodeo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *